12 Days of Christmas: 10th Day – Charlatans

Header for interview between War: 13th Day, otome game, and Charlatans, kinetic novel.

The cast of War: 13th Day, an upcoming dark fantasy romance game, interviews the characters from Charlatans, a kinetic novel.

Yesterday, Ambrosia and Wildfire had a cup of coffee with the earl, his wife, and their maid.  Today, there’s a rich lady, twins, and a janitor.

INTERVIEWERS

littlea1

Ambrosia of the Phoenix

 

Barium sprite from War: 13th Day, English otome and VN.

Barium of the Vi

littlew4

Wildfire of the Valkyrie

GUEST STAR

Onyx sprite from War: 13th Day, a dark fantasy romance game (otome).

Onyx of the Vi

INTERVIEWEES

Karon sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Karon

Priam from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Priam

Sabine from Charlatans, kinetic novel and English visual novel.

Sabine

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil

Setting: A log cabin with a roaring fire and two couches facing each other.

Note: If you see a sentence in italics, it is that person’s thoughts.  Not to be confused with titles (i.e. Twelve Days of Christmas) and italicized actions, which are in brackets.

Barium, king of the Vi, from War: 13th Day - English otome/romance game and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Welcome to the Twelve Days of Christmas interview series!  I’m glad you could all be here.  I hope everyone’s comfortable.  Can I get you anything to eat or drink?

[Even if the couch is spacious, it looks like the Charlatans quartet is squished together. On the right corner is Sabine, then follows his sister, Priam. On the left corner is Virgil, carrying his broom, and, in the little space between Priam and Virgil, there is Karon with an unpleasant face.]

Priam from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Priam: Wine. A good one if your heart allows.

Sabine from Charlatans, kinetic novel and English visual novel.

Sabine: Wine too! A bottle for each.

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil: …We took a three hours long trip to reach this cabin just for them to destroy our first good impression in a matter of seconds.

Karon sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Karon: A glass of Ale for me.

Priam sprite from Charlatans, English VN.

Priam: Ale? I was hoping a more refined paladar from you, Karon.

karon2

Karon: What’s wrong with Ale?

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil: I would like some water, please. Someone needs to get out sober from this interview.  And thank you for inviting us.

Barium of the Vi from War: 13th Day, English otome and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Not at all.  It’s my pleasure.  Onyx.

[Onyx, a man suited in black armor from head to toe, appears at the doorway on the far wall.]

Barium, king of the Vi, from War: 13th Day - English otome/romance game and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Bring our fine guests their heart’s desires.

Wildfire cutout from War: 13th Day, otome and English visual novel.

Wildfire: I’m starting to think you shouldn’t be in charge of introductions.

Barium of the Vi from War: 13th Day, English otome and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Nonsense.  I make things fun.  Oh, by the way, this feisty woman on my left is Wildfire of the Valkyrie.  And this lovely lady on my right is Ambrosia of the Phoenix.

Ambrosia from War: 13th Day, otome and EVN.

Ambrosia: Pleased to make your acquaintance.

Barium, king of the Vi, from War: 13th Day - English otome/romance game and GxB visual novel.

Barium: As for me, I’m Barium, king of the Vi, while the one with your drinks is my kinsman, Onyx.

[As if right on cue, Onyx reappears with a tray that carries everyone’s requests, and he sets it on the table nestled between the couches.  As Barium speaks, Onyx proceeds to pour out the drinks into glasses and extend them to the guests personally.]

Barium of the Vi from War: 13th Day, English otome and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Please have as much as you’d like.   There’s plenty of drinks to go around.  Now then, why don’t all of you tell us about your plans for the holidays?

[Karon, Sabine and Virgil still seem to be surprised by the dark swordman’s presence…]

Priam sprite  from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Priam: That’s rude, guys.  Stop staring at the lad.

Karon from Charlatans, English VN.

Karon: Err…

Virgil from Charlatans, an English visual novel game.

Virgil: T-Thanks for the drinks. *cough*

Sabine sprite from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Sabine: Ah, Christmas is near right?

Karon sprite from Charlatans, EVN.

Karon: Pfft-Christmas! What a pain…Parties! Banquets! Winter balls! All this overly festive people wandering aimlessly in the streets.

pri4

Priam: ...Oh please, shut up.

Sabine sprite from English visual novel, Charlatans.

Sabine:

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil: That actually sounds thrilling.

Karon sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Karon: It could be thrilling, yes. But I can’t stand anyone that invited me.

Sabine from Charlatans, kinetic novel and English visual novel.

Sabine: Well, you can always come to my tent. I don’t have a party or a banquet to offer, but we will have duck this year, hahaha.

Priam sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Priam: Duck! I don’t even remember when was the last time we ate that. Good job, brother! I’m starting to like that show of yours a little bit more.

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil: But it’s not duck season…Better not break Sabine’s enthusiasm, though.

Karon sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Karon: Stupid charlatan, it’s not duck season.

sa4

Sabine: …Look at this missy underestimating someone way older than her. I know it’s not duck season, that’s why I bought duck three months ago.

Karon from Charlatans, English VN.

Karon: Ambrosia from the Death Room, a visual novel game! That must be rotten!

Priam sprite from Charlatans, English VN.

Priam: …Wait, where did you hide that duck? I’ve hadn’t heard a single “quack” in all these three months.

Sabine sprite from English visual novel, Charlatans.

Sabine: Inside a trunk? Like mom used to do.

Priam sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Priam: Oh…I remember THAT trunk…

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil: I’m not sure how is that possible, but when it comes to cooking Sabine is the best.

Karon sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Karon: Hmm…………I will consider your offer. I’m curious if what Virgil says is true or is just his awful taste speaking for him.

Sabine sprite from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Sabine:  Come and find out for yourself. Aha! I can’t wait to see you eat those mean words along my perfectly glazed duck.

Sabine from Charlatans, kinetic novel and English visual novel.

Sabine: Of course, you are all invited to my tent if you bored of everything as m’lady here.

Ambrosia from War: 13th Day, otome and EVN.

Ambrosia: Oh, that’s very kind of you to offer, Sir Sabine.

Barium of the Vi from War: 13th Day, English otome and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Hmm…we don’t actually have Christmas back on Virgo Island.  I would be interested to see what it’s like.

Ambrosia of the Phoenix sprite from War: 13th Day, dark fantasy otome and English VN.

Ambrosia: As would I – just as long as we aren’t imposing.  If you need any help preparing anything, I would be more than happy to lend a hand.

Wildfire of the Valkyrie sprite from War: 13th Day, dark fantasy otome and English VN.

Wildfire: You guys are kind of weird, but sure.  It’s free food.  Let’s see how good you are at cooking.

Ambrosia from War: 13th Day, otome and EVN.

Ambrosia: I have no doubt that he is as skilled as Sir Virgil claims him to be.

Barium of the Vi from War: 13th Day, English otome and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Oh?  I don’t know if he’ll be able to beat you.

Ambrosia of the Phoenix sprite from War: 13th Day, dark fantasy otome and English VN.

Ambrosia: You flatter me! But, truly, if this were a competition, I would be a poor rival.  I wouldn’t stand a chance against his fearsome ability.

Wildfire cutout from War: 13th Day, otome and English visual novel.

Wildfire: I know you’re having fun flirting with Sabine and all, but what does this have to do with the interview?

Ambrosia of the Phoenix from War: 13th Day, dark fantasy otome and English visual novel.

Ambrosia: Eh?  Lady Wildfire, please don’t misrepresent my intentions.  I was only being honest.

Barium, king of the Vi, from War: 13th Day - English otome/romance game and GxB visual novel.

Barium: All right, all right.  We’ll talk about what we have to do later.  Now then, do all of you have someone special to spend Christmas with?

[Sabine kept silent and carefully listened to them, looking at the side with a faint blush. It’s clear that he doesn’t get many people to praise him.]

Sabine from kinetic novel, Charlatans.

Sabine: Thank you for your kindness, m’lady. I hope someday you will join me in my humble kitchen.

Priam sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Priam: Oh my, oh my! Blushing like a little boy, aren’t you too cute?

[Priam takes a long sip of her glass of wine.]

Sabine sprite from English VN, Charlatans.

Sabine: S-shut your trap!

Karon from Charlatans, kinetic novel and EVN.

Karon: Ugh, what a simple man.

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil: Pardon them. Sometimes they are like children.

Priam from Charlatans, English VN game.

Priam: …Now, take that back. It’s disrespectful to make fun of your elders.

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil: Priam, it’s not the place to sta-

Priam from Charlatans, English VN game.

Priam: That sounds nowhere near an apology.

vir3

Virgil: You…How can I see you as an elder when you keep throwing child tantrums like that?

Barium sprite from War: 13th Day, English otome and VN.

Barium: I don’t know.  Priam’s kind of sexy when she’s mad.

Sabine sprite from English visual novel, Charlatans.

Sabine: Guys, don’t raise your voice…

Karon sprite from English visual novel game, Charlatans.

Karon:……………………………….I don’t have anyone special, he died.

[There’s  a moment of silence.]

Ambrosia of the Phoenix cut-out sprite from War: 13th Day, dark fantasy otome and English visual novel.

Ambrosia: Oh my…

Priam sprite from Charlatans, English VN.

Priam:

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil:

Sabine from Charlatans, kinetic novel and English visual novel.

Sabine: What? Your boyfriend died?

[There’s another moment of silence.]

Karon from Charlatans, English VN.

Karon:……………………………..My father.

[After saying that, Karon pours her eyes into Sabine. If glares could kill they say…]

Sabine sprite from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Sabine: Ahh.

Priam sprite from Charlatans, English VN.

Priam: I know you loved your father, Karon. But what Mr. Barium meant was someone special, like a loverIt could be friends and family, yes. But I don’t think anyone of us have someone that special who is still alive.

Karon sprite from English visual novel game, Charlatans.

Karon: You don’t…

Karon sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Karon: Nevermind. They will never understand…

Priam sprite from Charlatans, English VN.

Priam: ?  As for me, I don’t have someone like that.

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil:

Sabine sprite from English VN, Charlatans.

Sabine: Are you trying to say WE are not special to YOU?

Priam from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Priam: Sure, brother, I hold you dear in my heart…In some place, in some corner, there should be.

Virgil from Charlatans, an English visual novel game.

Virgil: And what about me?

Sabine sprite from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Sabine: I see, that’s good. For you to know, I hold you dear, sister. Every time I see that ugly stain in the ceiling of my room, I remember you.  Like “Oh boy! That thing looks like Priam when she smiles with her crooked lips.”

Wildfire cutout from War: 13th Day, otome and English visual novel.

Wildfire: Heh.

Priam from Charlatans, English VN game.

Priam:… We are being creative I see.

Karon sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Karon: What about you, Virgil? Don’t let this fools rob your place with their meek fights.

Virgil from Charlatans, an English visual novel game.

Virgil: M-me?

Sabine sprite from English VN, Charlatans.

Sabine: He clearly has but, sadly, is such a BLAND WOMAN.

[Sabine said that while looking at Priam. She frowns and looks away from her brother.]

Karon sprite from Charlatans, EVN.

Karon: What a waste of a man. You are not particularly handsome, but at least you have this impressive stature you could use as an advantage.  Yet, when it comes to things like this you go “Mmmm-me?” …It’s said “me”! “ME”! Don’t go stuttering like that if you want a wife.  Seriously…”Mmme”, “Mmm-me.” What’s that?!

[Karon tries to replicate Virgil’s deep voice with her rough one…]

Priam sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Priam: Pff-!

[…while Virgil’s face gets violently red.]

Sabine sprite from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Sabine: Now, Karon…He is fine like that. There are only monks and nuns in my tent hahaha!

Karon sprite from Charlatans, EVN.

Karon: Huh? What’s that supposed to mean?

Priam sprite from Charlatans, English VN.

Priam: …Aren’t you too old to brag about your virginity?

[At that, Ambrosia’s face colors.]

Ambrosia of the Phoenix from War: 13th Day, English otome game.

Ambrosia: !

Sabine from Charlatans, kinetic novel and English visual novel.

Sabine: Just saying, I’m not alone in the path of purity.

[He said that while finishing his glass of wine, then taking the bottle which Onyx placed on the table and carelessly pouring more into his glass.]

Karon from Charlatans, kinetic novel and EVN.

Karon: H-how vulgar! To talk about this in front of our host!

Virgil from kinetic novel, Charlatans

Virgil: I-I have a family. I have my dear sisters and my parents which I love deeply.

Virgil from Charlatans, an English visual novel game.

Virgil: But, right now, if you ask me who I would like to spend Christmas with, I would say I want to be with these two, with Priam and Sabine. They are very precious to me.

[Both twins are looking at Virgil.  There are almost tears in their eyes…]

Priam from English visual novel game, Charlatans.

Priam: Oh…Virgil.

Sabine sprite from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Sabine: Well, dAmbrosia from the Death Room, a visual novel game…Virgil, my friend, I’m so touched.

Karon from Charlatans, kinetic novel and EVN.

Karon: Hmph.

Sabine from Charlatans, kinetic novel and English visual novel.

Sabine: Haha, what is it? Are you upset he didn’t mention you?

Virgil the janitor from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Virgil: Even with your sharp tongue, you are a dear friend too, Karon. I hope you join us this year.

kar6

Karon: Yeah, I knew that already…

[…She actually didn’t, but she was glad he considered her one.]

Ambrosia from War: 13th Day, otome and EVN.

Ambrosia: The friendship you have for one another truly warms my heart.

Barium, king of the Vi, from War: 13th Day - English otome/romance game and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Yes.  I think I’m going to let all of you go, so you can enjoy the holidays.  But first, let’s each make a toast.

[He takes up an empty glass on the table.  Onyx walks over to fill it with wine.]

Barium of the Vi from War: 13th Day, English otome and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Don’t forget to give a glass to each to the ladies as well.

Ambrosia from War: 13th Day, otome and EVN.

Ambrosia: Ah, there’s no need, Your Majesty.  I shall be perfectly content with water.

Barium, king of the Vi, from War: 13th Day - English otome/romance game and GxB visual novel.

Barium: That’s no fun but all right.  Whatever the lady desires.

Ambrosia of the Phoenix sprite from War: 13th Day, dark fantasy otome/dating simulation and English visual novel.

Ambrosia: Sir Onyx, you’ll be joining us for a toast as well, won’t you?

Onyx sprite from War: 13th Day, a dark fantasy romance game (otome).

Onyx: Did you want me to?

Wildfire of the Valkyrie sprite from War: 13th Day, dark fantasy otome and English VN.

Wildfire: Whoa, he talks.

Ambrosia from War: 13th Day, otome and EVN.

Ambrosia: You are very welcome to join us, Sir Onyx.  It wouldn’t be right to exclude you.

Barium of the Vi from War: 13th Day, English otome and GxB visual novel.

Barium: Go on, Onyx.  Grab a glass for yourself.  Now then, I’ll start it off.
Priam sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Priam: Oh great! More wine. Thank you for inviting us.  This was really fun.

Sabine sprite from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Sabine: Thank you for everything, kind ladies, good-hearted sir. Mr. Onyx, the wine was best I’ve ever tried in a while, thank you.

Virgil from Charlatans, English visual novel.

Virgil: …I suspect this might be our last interview.  Well, I regret nothing.  I’m as grateful as them, thank you for your patience and time.

Karon sprite from Charlatans, kinetic novel.

Karon: Thanks. The Ale was excellent. My best regards to the alewife.

Ambrosia of the Phoenix from War: 13th Day, English otome game.

Ambrosia: Alewife…?

Virgil from Charlatans, kinetic novel and English visual novel game.

Virgil: Ambrosia from the Death Room, a visual novel game!  Can’t you all be less obvious on how much you liked the alcohol?

[The charlatan quartet makes a fancy reverence to their hosts, then they proceed with the toast.]

The cast of War: 13th, otome game, and Charlatans, English visual novel.

illustration by clua

Tomorrow is the last interview, followed by the conclusion.  Keep an eye out for it by liking Dreamgazer on Facebook or following the game developer on Tumblr.

On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

10 Bottles of Wine

9 Cups of Coffee

8 Winter Shenanigans

7 Roasting S’mores

6 Cruise Surprises

5 Spider Legs

4 Date Nights

3 Date Planners

2 from Chinaland

and 1 Welcome from Virgo Islanders.

NEXT: CUPID

3 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas: 10th Day – Charlatans

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas: 9th Day – My Cup of Coffee | Dreamgazer

  2. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas: 11th Day – CUPID | Dreamgazer

  3. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas: 12th Day – War: 13th Day | Dreamgazer

Leave a Reply

